Text Size:
Community Redevelopment Agencies (CRAs)
CRA Home > About Community Redevelopment Agencies
Purpose of a CRA:  In 1969, the Florida Legislature enacted Part III, Chapter 163 of the Florida Statutesthe Redevelopment Actenabling local units of government to establish a Community Redevelopment Agency (CRA) in areas where "slum" and "blight" exist.  The goal of the program is to encourage local initiatives to revitalize older downtowns and declining residential neighborhoods. Over the years, there have been significant changes to the State Statutes (most recently in 2019) that govern redevelopment agencies but two basic documents have consistently remained:
Finding of Necessitya study of the proposed redevelopment area that details the need for redevelopment by identifying conditions of "slum" and "blight."  Examples of conditions that support the creation of a Community Redevelopment Area include the following: the presence of substandard or inadequate structures, inadequate infrastructure, and insufficient roadways.
Adoption of a Community Redevelopment Planguides the redevelopment of the area based on goals established through community input, once adopted.  The plan includes the overall goals for redevelopment of the area, and identifies the types of projects planned for the area.
Responsibilities of a CRA:  A CRA is a separate legal entity from the jurisdiction, which establishes the agency and the boundaries of a Community Redevelopment Area.  The CRA is responsible for developing and implementing the Community Redevelopment Plan that addresses the unique needs of the targeted area.  Tax Increment Financing (TIF), a special tool available to CRAs, is a portion of the  increase in ad valorem taxes collected above the established baseline tax amount in the target area established when the CRA Redevelopment Trust Fund was authorized and established.  It is important to note that property tax revenue collected by the School Board and other exempted taxing authorities are not affected under the TIF process. There are currently more than 220 CRAs in the state of Florida. To obtain a current list, visit the Department of Economic Opportunity site.
In unincorporated Charlotte County, there are three CRAs: Charlotte Harbor established in 1992, Murdock Village established in 2003, and Parkside established in 2010.  The Board of County Commissioners is the governing board of each of these agencies.  The Punta Gorda CRA was established in 1989 and the composition of the Punta Gorda CRA governing board consists of Punta Gorda City Council plus 2 members appointed by the city council.
Splash Category
Please pick a category for the splash banners for this page.
Accordion Menu
Source Type:
Source URL:
Section to Open Index:
Please pick a source for the accordion menu on this page:
{MAIN}:use the same menu as the public site home page.
{Local Site}: use a list from the local site.
{URL}: use a list from the URL specified in the URL textbox.
Facebook URL
Your Facebook URL (optional)
Twitter URL
Your Twitter URL (optional)
YouTube URL
Your YouTube URL (optional)
Under Florida Law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.