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Residential Door, Window & Shutter Permit Application Checklist 
 

 1. Application form (1 original with “wet” signature(s) & 1 copy). Note: Florida law requires Owner-
Builders to sign the form “in person” at the permit intake counter and provide proper identification. 
All Customer Service Representatives are notaries & can witness the signature(s). 

 a. Description of Work indicated on form (e.g. quantity & type of doors, windows, shutters). 

 b. Wind Speed/Zone indicated on form. 

 c. Exposure Category indicated on form. 

 d. Mean Roof Height indicated on form. 

 e. Product Approval #’s indicated on either the form, Floor Plan, or listed on a separate 
sheet. 

 f. Year of Construction indicated on the form. 

 g. Bill of Lading or NFRC report identifying U-Factor and Solar Heat Gain Coefficient (SHGC). 
 

 2. Floor Plan (2 copies) indicating each opening size, room types, window & door types & swing. It is 
recommended that Product Approval #’s be indicated on the plan as well. 

 

 3. Permit Fee including the state mandated Surcharge: $94. 
 

Note: Checks are to be made payable to “CCBCC” or “Charlotte County Board of County 
Commissioners.” Mastercard or Visa credit/debit cards or cash may also be used to make 
payments. 

 

 4. Notice of Commencement (NOC) form (1 copy of the recorded form) submitted prior to the first 
inspection. Note: it is recommended that the NOC be submitted at the time of application submittal 
or at least before permit issuance in order to avoid inspection delays. The NOC form is not required 
if the proposed improvement has a direct contract price of $2,500 or less. 

 

 5. Owner-Builder Disclosure Statement form for Owner-Builders only (1 original, unsigned). Note: 
Florida law requires Owner-Builders to sign the form “in person” at the permit counter and provide 
proper identification. All Customer Service Specialists are notaries & can witness the signature(s). 
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