
Abandoned      
 Vessel   
  Program 

OWNER’S/OPERATOR’S 
RESPONSIBILITIES 

 

•Vessel Registration: All vessels on the 
waters of the state must be registered.  F.S. 

328.48(2)  A Vessel must be in good 
working order, capable of moving and 

navigating under its own power (motor or 
wind)   

 

•Boating Safety Equipment: All vessels on 
the waters of this state shall carry, store, 

maintain and use safety equipment in 
accordance with the current USCG 

requirements.  

F.S. 327.50(1)(a) 

 

•Marine Sanitation: Every vessel 26 feet or 
more with enclosed cabin, or houseboat, or 
floating structure with enclosed living space 

shall install and maintain a toilet with 
storage capability as to prohibit discharge of 
raw sewage into the waters of the state. F.S. 

327.53(1)(2)(3)(4) 

 

•Mooring: All vessels are to be moored in a 
way as to maintain the submerged lands in 

its natural condition. F.S. 253.037(1)  A 
mooring light is required in accordance with 

the current USCG. 

 

•Litter Law: Dumping litter (whether 
accidental or intentional) is prohibited. F.S. 

403.413(4)(b)(6)  

 

 

 

   AGENCIES CONTACTS 

 
 
 
            Florida Fish and Wildlife 
            Conservation Commission
  Ft. Myers District 
  Dispatch #                                  
  (888) 404-3922 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  Charlotte County  
  Sheriff’s Office 
  East County 
  (941) 628-2615 
  West County 
  (941) 474-3233 
 
 
 
 
  Charlotte County  
  Community Services
            Park & Natural Resources
  (941) 613-3220 
 
 
 
 
              West Coast Inland 
              Navigational District
  (941)  485-9402 
 

Sunken Houseboat behind Cayo Pelau, R. DeBruler 

Sunken sailboat, Steven Lee 

Charlotte County 

Parks & Natural Resources 

 1120 Centennial Blvd 

Port Charlotte, FL 33953 
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PROTECTING YOURSELF 

If you move or sell or donate a vessel to another 

party, and the change is not recorded to the 

Department of Highway Safety and Motor 

Vehicles (DHSMV), you may be held responsible 

for all damages and costs for the removal of the 

vessel, if it is later found abandoned or derelict  

F.S. 705.103 & 823.11   Remember that the 

transfer of ownership will not occur until the 

purchaser files for the new  title with the DHSMV. 

Florida Law requires the seller to notify 

Department of Highway Safety and Motor 

Vehicles (DHSMV) about the transaction within 

30 days of the sale. F. S. 319.22(2a) 2 (b). Don’t 

rely on the new purchaser to do the right 

thing. You can find the DHSMV 82050 form at 

the following website: 

          www.flhsmv.gov/resources/forms/ 

Click on 82050 form.  Both the Seller and Buyer 

must sign the form. The seller must then submit 

the form to the Local Tax Collector’s Office and 

keep a copy for your records. 

 

 

 

WHAT IS A DERELICT OR ABANDONED  
BOAT 

“Derelict vessel” means any vessel, as 

defined in F.S. 327.02, that is left, stored, 

or abandoned in a wrecked, junked, or 

substantially dismantled condition upon 

any public waters of the state, F.S. 823.11 

(1a) 

“Abandoned vessel” means any vessel that 

meets the above and not having a 

identifiable owner and  has no apparent 

intrinsic value to the owner,                     

F.S. 705.101(3) 

“At-Risk” means any vessel unable to 

dewater itself, open hatches, broken loose 

of its anchor, and no effective means of 

propulsion. F.S. 327.4107 

REPORT  AN ABANDONED  VESSEL 

If you encounter a boat that cannot 

function under its own power or appears 

to have been abandoned on or under the 

water, please let us know by calling 

Natural Resources or the Sheriff’s Non-

emergency number at 941.639.2101.  

Providing these details will help to start 

the investigation:                                              

· Vessel description (type, size, make)         

· Vessel location (address, GPS)                    

· Registration numbers or vessel name        

· Pictures                                                            

· Why you believe it is abandoned                                                                            

(an ugly boat is not necessarily abandoned)                                           

· Your contact information  

 

Abandoned sailboat in Charlotte Harbor,  CCSO R. Jernigan 

PROGRAM HISTORY 

Charlotte County Board of County 

Commissioners approved an amendment in 

2007;  revised in 2015, section  3-9-76.1 of the 

Charlotte County Code of Ordinances 

concerning the discovery and disposition of 

vessels that are abandoned, derelict, a hazard 

to navigation, or a health hazard to the public. 

This code change allowed the County to assist 

in the removal of abandoned vessels under 

Florida Statute 705.103(2)(b). 

Charlotte County with the help of Charlotte 

County Sheriff’s Office Marine Division, 

Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation 

Commission’s Department of Law 

Enforcement, and the Punta Gorda Police 

Department’s Marine Section patrols to keep 

Charlotte County Waterways open and clear  

for all to enjoy. 

For more information visit the County’s 

website at www.CharlotteCountyFL.gov. 

 

Sunken power boat in Chadwick Bay, M. Christie 
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