Service

« Drivers may assist passengers entering or exiting the vehicle if
needed, and may assist passengers with disabilities from their front
door to the vehicle if needed.

o Drivers are not allowed to enter a residence or place of business.

e Drivers are not allowed to climb stairs for the purpose of carrying or
holding a passenger negotiating stairs.

o Drivers may offer their forearm to steady a passenger.

o Drivers are not allowed to lift passengers from their seat or wheel-
chair to a standing position.

« Driver cannot provide medical assistance.

« Driver has the right to refuse services to anyone under the influence of
alcohol or drugs, or who uses foul, abusive or threatening language to
the driver or other passengers. Loud, unruly or discourteous behavior
is not allowed on the transit vehicle.

« Drivers cannot drop passengers off at unscheduled locations.

o Charlotte County Transit reserves the right to refuse services to any
passenger who fails to adhere to Passenger Rules and Regulations.

Wheelchair Safety & Security

« Drivers are the only personnel authorized to operate a wheelchair lift.

o Wheelchairs may be considered unsafe for transport if there are loose
parts, the tires are worn or flat, the brakes do not work properly, or if
the wheelchair cannot be secured in place with available equipment.
Wheelchairs must be equipped with foot-rests if they are designed to
have foot-rests.

Charlotte County Transit

Passenger Rules and Regulations

The mission of Charlotte County Transit Division (CCTD) is to provide
safe, high quality, convenient, and affordable public transportation
services in a professional manner to all residents in Charlotte County.

Florida Law and Title V1 of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 Prohibits Discrimination in: Public
accommodation on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, handicap, or of marital status.
Persons believing they have been discriminated against on these conditions may file a complaint with
the Florida Commission on Human Relations at 850-488-7082 or 800-342-8170 (voice messaging).

Service Area
Charlotte County Transit provides public transportation service to all
residents of Charlotte County. Service area includes Englewood, Port
Charlotte, Punta Gorda, and the surrounding areas. Charlotte County
Transit also connects with the Sarasota County Area Transit system
(SCAT) in North Port and Englewood.

Service Hours
Charlotte County operates Monday through Friday 6:30 a.m. to 6:00
p.m., and Saturday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. and is restricted to a limited
service area. The CCTD is closed on Sunday and all federal and county
holidays.

Charlotte County Transit Fare

o $2.00 base rate (one-way)
o $1.00 Transportation Disadvantaged (TD) passengers (one-way)

TD passengers, please identify yourselves when making reservations
e FREE Child (under 12 yrs.) and traveling with an adult
o FREE Passenger’s aide or caregiver
o FREE Age 80 and above
o FREE Veterans

Exact fare for each trip is required (The driver cannot make change)

Transportation Disadvantaged Program (TD)
The Transportation Disadvantaged Program is for individuals who are physically or
otherwise disabled, 60 years of age or older, qualify as low income, or live in a rural area.
To apply for the Transportation Disadvantaged service, print and complete the
Transportation Services Request Form found on our website at

https://www.charlottecountyfl.gov/services/transportation or dial 941.575.4000 and request

one. Transportation Disadvantaged Ombudsman dial 800.983.2435.

Welcome Aboard!




Reservations & Scheduling
To make a reservation with Charlotte County Transit, call
941.575.4000, or e-mail us at Transit@charlottecountyfl.gov, or use the
Charlotte County App.
Information needed to reserve a trip; name of rider or riders, time, pick
up location address, destination address, and telephone number.
Reservations can be made during dispatch and scheduling hours on
Monday- Friday 7:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. It is recommended that you
make reservations 24 to 96 hours in advance.
Reservations must be made by 1:00 p.m. the business day before the
desired trip.
Same-day reservations can be made from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m., if available.
Scheduling is based on a first-come, first-serve basis.
When scheduling, please allow one hour for travel time regardless of
your trip distance and one hour at your destination.
Advise the dispatch office if you are running late.

Cancellations and No-Shows
Cancellations should be called in the day before your trip, but no later
than 1 hour before your scheduled pickup time.
Cancellations at the door, or less than 1 hour prior to your scheduled
pickup time, is considered a no-show incident.
Upon arrival of the bus, if the passenger does not board within three
(3) minutes, the driver will leave and the passenger will be marked as
a no-show and will need to reschedule their trip. Reasonable
Modifications may be made for individuals with disabilities.
After three (3) recorded no-shows, the passenger will receive a letter
suspending service for thirty (30) days. Continued no-shows after a
suspension may result in permanent suspension of service.

"Confirm or Cancel™
The CCT call feature consists of the customer receiving a call from
Charlotte County Transit as a reminder of their scheduled trip for the
next business day. At that time, the customer may confirm or cancel
their trip.

To CONFIRM: PRESS 1 --- To CANCEL: PRESS 9

Passenger Responsibilities

e Charlotte County Transit is a public transportation service and does

not provide emergency transportation. For emergency transportation
call Charlotte County Emergency Medical Services or 9-1-1.

o Passengers must be ready for pickup at least 15 minutes before the

scheduled pickup time, and allow at least 15 minutes after the
scheduled pickup time for the vehicle to arrive.

o Passengers are responsible for all personal items; and for safety

reasons, nothing can be left in the aisles of the vehicle.

o Charlotte County Transit is not responsible for passenger’s lost or

broken items.

o Talking to driver while bus is in motion is forbidden.
o Passengers who are too ill to care for themselves must be

accompanied by an aide or caregiver.

« Passengers who need to travel with maintenance oxygen or other

medical apparatus are solely responsible for the use of their
equipment.

o Passengers with undressed wounds, contagious diseases, or who

involuntarily discharge bodily fluids must make other transportation
arrangements.

o Passengers under 12 must be accompanied by an adult.
e Passengers must remain seated with seat-belts fastened when the

vehicle is in motion.

e Use restraints for small children and fold strollers for the trip.

Passengers’ comments are welcome!

Suggestion cards are available for submitting compliments, comments,

and suggestions. Please place your comment card in the fare box as you
exit the vehicle. You may also comment by calling 941-833-6296 or by
e-mailing us at Transit@charlottecountyfl.gov

Public Transportation is provided through Charlotte
County Government www.CharlotteCountyfl.gov

If something doesn’t look right, let us know!
Charlotte County Transit (941) 833-6296

AN/

Let’s count on each other for a safe ride




