Charlotte County, FL Logo

941.743.1200
18500 Murdock Circle
Port Charlotte, FL 33948

Mobile Menu close icon
close search

Residential Remodel

Interior remodel of an existing residential space.

Required Forms & Documents

  • Application for Construction Permit (2 page form) 1 original signed.
  • Notice of Commencement (1 copy recorded): Any improvement for which the direct contract price is greater than $2,500. Must be submitted prior to scheduling the first inspection.
  • Drawings/Plans/Engineering (2 sets or copies): Plan(s) clearly showing existing conditions & proposed new construction
  • Energy Calculations: Energy Calculations
  • Subcontractor Worksheet (1 original or copy): Submit if contractor is hiring a subcontractor to perform any electric, mechanical, plumbing or roofing.
  • 50 Percent Improvement or Damage Review Application (1 original): If property is in a flood hazard zone, a copy of an Elevation Certificate proving the structure is above the flood hazard elevation must be provided. Otherwise, this 50 Percent Review Form must be completed & submitted.
  • Owner-Builder Permits Information: Please read this information about what & who may qualify for an Owner-Builder permit. An Owner-Builder Disclosure Statement form must be completed.
  • Owner-Builder Disclosure Statement (1 original, personally signed at the permit counter): Eligible Owner-Builders must complete this form in person at the time of application. Required by Florida law in order to be exempt from having to be a licensed contractor (sale or lease of the property is prohibited for 1 year from permit completion).
  • Product Specifications: Product Approval Numbers for materials (e.g. windows, doors, roof covering, siding, soffits, etc.). Product approvals can be researched at floridabuilding.org/pr/pr_app_srch.aspx (FL#'s) or miamidade.gov/building/pc-search_app.asp (NOA #'s)

Fees

On Application
  • Building Flat Fee: $200
At Issuance
  • Surcharge: $5 if Valuation is less than $50,000. If Valuation is $50,000 or more, the Surcharge = 0.025 x Building Fee
  • Building: 0.004 x ICC Valuation if more than or equal to $50,000 in valuation - less the Pre-Application Fee

Licenses That Can Pull This Permit Type

  • Owner-Builder: Must not rent or sell the property within one (1) year of completion of the permit.
  • Certified Building
  • Certified General
  • Certified Residential
  • Registered Building
  • Registered General
  • Registered Residential

Review Disciplines

  • Intake/Sufficiency: An "at the counter" intake/sufficiency review of the application & its required documents to verify completeness for acceptance and payment of initial fees.
  • 50 Percent: Review of improvements proposed to be made to a building located in a Flood Zone so that a comparison can be made between the cost of new & past cumulative work to the market value of the building. If the cost of cumulative improvements or damage repair exceeds 50 percent of the market value of the building, the building must be brought up to current floodplain management standards.
  • Building Plans Examiner: A review of the proposed work to ensure that the structure will be in compliance with the applicable structural requirements of the Florida Building Code. This also includes wind loads and flood loads.

Typical Inspections/Certifications/As Builts

Inspection Type (IVR System Code):
  • Building Final (925): Made after all work is complete. Electrical, mechanical, plumbing, driveway and tree final inspections may be made prior to the building final inspection.
  • Drywall Rough (394)
  • Framing (200): Made after all construction is dried in and after all applicable rough electrical, plumbing, mechanical and gas inspections have been made. There should be no insulation installed prior to the inspection.

Note: Fee payments by check should be made payable to either "CCBCC" or Charlotte County Board of County Commissioners. Payments are also accepted by Mastercard or Visa credit or debit cards.

Delivering Exceptional Service

Questions? Issues?

Contact Us