Charlotte County, FL Logo

941.743.1200
18500 Murdock Circle
Port Charlotte, FL 33948

Mobile Menu close icon
close search

Residential Shed

Installation of a storage shed on a residential site. Sheds 100 sq. ft. or less in area require only a Zoning review as well as a Building Permit. All other sheds require a Building Permit and must have both a Building Plans Examiner review & a Zoning review prior to permit issuance.

Exception: a Building Permit is not required for plastic or rubber manufactured type sheds 68 sq. ft. or less in area. However, they must comply with zoning setbacks and must be moved and secured if there is the threat of a tropical storm.

Required Forms/Documents - Application Submittal

  • Application for Residential Shed Permit (1 page form). Submit 1 original & 1 copy.
  • Owner-Builder Disclosure Statement Submit 1 original, personally signed at the permit counter. Eligible Owner-Builders must complete this form in person at the time of application. This form is required by Florida law in order to be exempt from having to be a licensed contractor (note: sale or lease of the property is prohibited for 1 year from permit completion).
  • Tree Permit Application (1 original & 1 copy): The tree permit application form must accompany the permit application if trees are being removed and/or lot clearing is necessary.
  • No Tree Removal Affidavit for Improvements (1 original & 1 copy): This affidavit is to be used to certify that the property does not require the removal of any trees, 4 caliper inch or greater and/or not installed for tree points.
  • Affidavit for Accessory Structures Not Requiring a Zoning Inspection (1 signed, notarized & recorded copy): Affidavit is to be submitted if the shed is under a carport or if a shed is less than 250 sq. ft. in area.
  • Affidavit of Applicant for Accessory Structures (1 original notarized): This affidavit is to be used only if a copy of the property survey is not available.
  • Letter of Compatibility for Accessory Structures (1 original notarized): This letter is required if the shed will be greater than 250 sq.ft. in area.
  • Site Plan (2 copies or sets). 
  • Drawings/Plans/Engineering - "DCA" Approved Sheds Only (2 copies or sets): Proof of State of Florida DCA Approval.
  • Drawings/Plans/Engineering - Plastic or Rubber Type Sheds 48 sq. ft. or Less Only (2 copies or sets): Two copies of the manufacturer's brochure suffices.
  • Drawings/Plans/Engineering - Non-DCA Approved Sheds Only (2 copies or sets): Non-DCA sheds over 100 sq. ft.,require original signed/sealed documents by an engineer/architect; or plans complying with a prescriptive method. The prescriptive method link to the Wood Frame Construction Manual: www.awc.org/codes-standards/publications/wfcm-2015 & must be followed exactly.

Required Forms/Documents - Prior To First Inspection

  • Notice of Commencement (1 copy recorded): Any improvement for which the direct contract price is greater than $2,500. This form must be submitted prior to scheduling the first inspection.

Required Forms/Documents - Prior to Final Inspections

  • Elevation Certificate-"Final": If a shed is over 250 sq. ft., a certificate prepared by a registered surveyor, is required if the property is in the Special Flood Hazard Area. The certificate must be submitted for approval prior to requesting Final inspections.

Other Information

  • Flow Chart (Large, "Site Built" or Non-DCA Approved): Flow chart of the residential shed permitting process for large, "site built," or non-DCA approved type sheds.
  • Flow Chart (Small and DCA Approved): Flow chart of the residential shed permitting process for small DCA approved type sheds.
  • Owner-Builder Permits Information: Please read this information about what & who may qualify for an Owner-Builder permit. An Owner-Builder Disclosure Statement form must be completed in-person.Wood Frame Construction Manual (AWC): Prescriptive method
  • Wood Frame Construction Manual (AWC): Prescriptive method
  • Per Florida Statute FS 489.103(21), "the sale, delivery, assembly, or tie-down of lawn storage buildings or storage buildings not exceeding 400 sq. ft. and bearing the insignia of approval from the Department of Community Affairs showing compliance with the Florida Building Code" shall not require its installation by a contractor.
  • Contractors and Owner-Builders must list any subcontractors with their permit applications.

Fees

Payments are accepted by Mastercard or Visa credit or debit cards. Except for online permits, payments by check should be made payable to either "CCBCC" or Charlotte County Board of County Commissioners.

  • Due At Application Submittal
    • Building: $90
    • State Mandated Surcharge: $4
  • Due At Permit Issuance
    • Zoning Review: $22
    • Right-Of-Way Review: $90

Licenses Authorized For This Permit Type

  • Owner-Builder (must not lease, rent or sell the property within one (1) year of completion of the permit)
  • Certified Building
  • Certified General
  • Certified Residential
  • Registered Building
  • Registered General
  • Registered Residential
  • Local Shed Tie Down

Review Disciplines

  • Intake/Sufficiency: An "at the counter" intake/sufficiency review of the application & its required documents to verify completeness for acceptance and payment of initial fees.
  • Zoning: A review the proposed work for compliance with the land development regulations. This includes zoning, setbacks and any other regulations pertaining to the location and type of structure.
  • Building Plans Examiner: A review of the proposed work to ensure that the structure will be in compliance with the applicable structural requirements of the Florida Building Code. This also includes wind loads and flood loads.
  • Permit Issuance: At this point, work may commence. The applicant will receive an approved copy of the permit package and a Permit-Inspections Job Card to be posted at the site printed with a list of the required inspections needed to complete the permit.

Typical Inspections

Inspection Type (IVR Code):
  • Building Final (925): Made after all work is complete. Depending upon the scope of work, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, driveway and tree final inspections may be required prior to the Building Final inspection.
  • Tie Down (208)
  • Zoning Final (965)

Delivering Exceptional Service

Questions? Issues?

Contact Us